Carp Skiff Build

Its official, my Jon boat a.k.a. Carp Killa is getting an overhaul. With a ton of help from my amigo Matt, there is a front casting deck, rod holders, and new flat floor being added to my skiff, followed by a bow mount trolling motor. The floor and deck are being constructed out of plywood, with a good coating of marine epoxy, followed by a topcoat of Rhino lining or marine paint depending on what is left of my budget after the necessities are added. Later, I plan to replace my homemade “Redneck” poling platform with something that doesn’t look like it came from Sanford and Sons junk yard. Oh and I am on the hunt for a Yeti cooler to mount in the middle, so the refreshments will stay extra cold.

For those interested in chasing Carp on the fly, I plan to acquire my OUPV Six Pack Capt’s License in the near future.

Stay tuned for more on the Carp Killa build.

Ryan

About Ryan

Fly fishing guide in Western North Carolina, East Tennessee, and North Georgia.
This entry was posted in App Fly Guides, Appalachian Fly Guides, Float Trips, Fly Fishing Guide, Fly Fishing Guide Service, Fly Fishing Guides in North Carolina, Fly Fishing Trips, Guided Fly Fishing, Guides in East Tennessee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Carp Skiff Build

  1. Matt says:

    Dammit. I guess I have to actually work on it now.

  2. Jamie says:

    get that yeti readi

  3. MurphyK says:

    Get it done because I either need to borrow it or have you come pole me around when we go to Topsail, NC for vacation this summer. I’m afraid the gators will be attracted to the Nanner boat’s awesomeness.

  4. maybe consider herculiner for the floor. way cheaper than rhino liner. The stuff goes on sale all the time; I picked up a kit for my truck for $45 after a $20 rebate a few years back.

Leave a Reply

