Highwater on the Watauga

I hit the Watauga River yesterday with my friend Terry from Raleigh. The TVA was running a generation from 6 am. to 12 p.m. . We launched around 10 a.m. and worked our way down the river fishing the soft seams with heavy nymph rigs and streamers. The fishing was slow, but that is usually the case when the water first hits. I managed a few chunky browns on nymphs. As the day progress we worked our way down past the caddis riffle and anchored for some lunch. Our plan was to wait on the water to fall. During or break there was a sporadic hatch of BWO’s and beleive it or not some black stoneflies. About 3:30 p.m. the water began to fall and the fishing turned on. We spent the rest of the day working our way down the river and picking up fish. At one point I dropped anchor in the ledges and my anchor came loose. Well I was hell bent on finding it, so I pulled the boat up on a rock grabbed Terry’s wading staff and began to wade around in waist deep water. Terry thought I had lost my mind. Just as I was about to give up, I spotted it lodged in a crack. I have never had my anchor detach itself, so this was a first. I will be making a trip to Lowe’s for a locking carabiner! The river looks to be shaping up for spring. Spring on the tailwaters of East Tenn can be on fire. To book a trip call me at 828-446-5552 or email me at Appflyguides@yahoo.com

A chunky high water brown.

Falling water

 

Waiting on the water to drop.

A shot from the Ledges.

About Ryan

Fly fishing guide in Western North Carolina, East Tennessee, and North Georgia.
This entry was posted in App Fly Guides, Appalachian Fly Guides, Float Trips, Fly Fishing Guide, Fly Fishing Guide Service, Fly Fishing Guides in North Carolina, Fly Fishing Trips, Guided Fly Fishing, Guides in East Tennessee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Highwater on the Watauga

  1. Tyler Legg says:

    Sick blog Ryan! Adding it to my blog list. Good luck on the guiding service!

    -Tyler

    • Ryan says:

      Tyler,

      Thanks for the blog exchange. i will throw your blog up as well. Its going to take a while to build the service. I still work with some other outfitters, but over time the name should get out.

      Ryan

  2. Transylwader says:

    Nice Ryan, glad to spread the word for you. Excellent blog dude. Cheers,
    Mike TW

Leave a Reply

